SoLoMo Lives!

Consumer insights on SoLoMo

Five days ago I wrote a blog post lamenting the fact that SoLoMo (social, local, mobile) marketing was taking too long for retailers to adopt and questioning if that would be the death of Foursquare.

I was pleasantly surprised when I checked in at Whole Foods today and there was a “special” on their Foursquare page.

Whole Foods has a great promotion with American Express where if I buy $75 worth of groceries between now and June 15, AMEX will give me a $10 refund — 13.3% discount.

Awesome cross-promotion by Whole Foods and AMEX, facilitated by Foursquare.

I’ve already told my wife that I need to go with her on her next “big” shopping trip to Whole Foods.  She now understands why I keep “checking in” everywhere I go.

Hopefully many other retailers will see the benefits of promotions of this type.

What SoLoMo promotions have you taken part in?

About Insights From Analytics

Integrated marketing professional who generates insights from analytics to increase revenue. Daily blog now resides at www.insightsfromanalytics.com/blog.
This entry was posted in Consumer Insights and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

