SoLoMo Too Slow for Foursquare?

Consumer insights on SoLoMo

I didn’t sign-up for Foursquare when I first heard about it because I didn’t see the benefit to me as a consumer.

Then, Chipotle had a promotion encouraging customers to sign-up on Foursquare and check-in at every visit.

Since I eat a Chipotle at least five days a week, at home and while traveling, I signed up and started checking in.

As a marketer, I know there’s tremendous value in knowing who your best customers are and ensuring they receive a consistently outstanding customer experience.  These are likely to be your “raving fans” as well as your best social media promoters.

However, I don’t see any retailers using Foursquare to develop, or even a have a relationship with, their best customers.

To date, I’ve checked-in 2,692 times, have 24 badges and am “mayor” at 20 venues.

Not once have I received anything from anywhere I’ve checked in — even a “thank you for checking in.”

While I see tremendous potential for SoLoMo (social/local/mobile) marketing, it’s uptake by retailers seems awfully slow to me.

What do you think?  Is SoLoMo over hyped or are retailers missing the boat?

If retailers are missing the boat, what can we do to help them?

About Insights From Analytics

Integrated marketing professional who generates insights from analytics to increase revenue. Daily blog now resides at www.insightsfromanalytics.com/blog.
This entry was posted in Consumer Insights and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SoLoMo Too Slow for Foursquare?

  1. Pingback: SoLoMo Lives! | Insights From Analytics Blog

Leave a Reply

