How To Save 40% of Your Corporate ID Collateral Spend

Consumer insights on saving money

When I joined a professional services firm as their director of corporate marketing, I began collecting the business cards of the different consultants and investment bankers I met.

Something was wrong, very wrong to someone for whom brand identity is critical.  The business cards looked different — not drastically different but they didn’t make the company look very professional and all of the brand elements weren’t consistent.

It turns out the cards were printed by several different printers.  While all the printers tried to follow a template, each one was off in one way or another.

I proceeded to inventory all letterhead, envelopes, report covers and any other corporate identity materials the firm was using to promote itself or to communicate with customers and prospects.

I then determined the average amount of each piece that was used in a year and developed an RFP that I sent to seven printers.

When one of the administrative professionals in our Denver office heard what I was in the process of doing, she called to ask me if I was including Imperial Printing in my RFP.

I had never heard of Imperial Printing, they were four hours away in Charlotte.

Net, net, they came in 40% less than my next lowest bidder.  I checked references and they got rave reviews from their customers.

The best quote from a longtime customer was, “Stu has learned how to make money printing business cards.”  Boy had he.

I ended up saving my employer more than $150,000 over the course of three years.

How much are you spending on your corporate identity materials?

How would you like to save 40%?

Imperial Printing was purchased by ImageMark, they knew a good thing when they found it.

Ask for Gary Smith when you call.  He’s not a relative and he’s very responsive and reliable.

About Insights From Analytics

Integrated marketing professional who generates insights from analytics to increase revenue. Daily blog now resides at www.insightsfromanalytics.com/blog.
This entry was posted in Consumer Insights and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

