A Key Question to Ask in Any Survey

Consumer insights on surveys

I’m a big proponent of customer surveys.

I’m also a big proponent of keeping them short.

My company’s customer satisfaction survey is three questions. If we receive a “detractor” Net Promoter Score, we pick up the phone and call the customer and have a dialogue so the customer knows were heard them, we’re concerned about what they said and we want to resolve the issue.

While our survey is only three questions, two are open-ended so our customers can provide insight in their own words.

When I conduct one-on-one interviews with customers, prospects, channel partners or management I always end with the question, “What have I not asked you that you think I need to know?” This typically elicits the longest answer than any previous question and gives the respondent the opportunity to bring up any issues they may have thought of after answering an earlier question.

Too many surveys I complete for other companies don’t give me the opportunity to provide them feedback on their survey, their products, their services — what’s important to me.

I’ve been a Nature’s Path Cereal customer for 10 years. They began a customer panel a little more than a year ago. The surveys are too long and many of the products they want my feedback on are not relevant to me. I’ve stopped answering their surveys. Hopefully they’ll ask me why — I want them to be successful, I want to give the feedback but the surveys they’re sending me are not relevant and, therefore, are not worth my time.

Please make sure to ask your respondents if they have “any additional comments, suggestions or ways for us to improve” regardless if you are fielding an online, telephone or in-person survey.

What are some of your suggestions to improve surveys?

About Insights From Analytics

Integrated marketing professional who generates insights from analytics to increase revenue. Daily blog now resides at www.insightsfromanalytics.com/blog.
This entry was posted in Consumer Insights and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

