Consumer Insights on Company Culture

I just finished reading Tony Hsieh’s new book, “Delivering Happiness.” There are so many great stories and suggestions in this book, I want to share them with you over my next few blog posts. By all means, buy the book. It’s a great read for anyone who owns, or wants to impact, a business.

Zappos tries to manage the strength of their corporate culture through regular employee surveys. Specifically, the survey asks employees whether they agree or disagree with statements such as:
– I believe that the company has a higher purpose beyond just profits.
– My role at Zappos has a real purpose — it is more than just a job.
– I feel that I am in control of my career path and that I am progressing in my personal and professional development at Zappos.
– I am very happy in my job.

Over time, Zappos realized that their culture and their brand were inseparable. They also realized that in today’s interconnected world that companies are becoming more and more transparent whether they like it or not. An unhappy customer or a disgruntled employee can blog about a bad experience with a company and the story can spread like wildfire by e-mail or via Twitter.

The reverse is true as well. A great experience with a company can be shared with millions of people almost instantaneously as well.

Ultimately, you cannot possible anticipate every possible touch point that may influence the perception of your brand.

Does your company culture accurately reflect your brand?

About Insights From Analytics

Integrated marketing professional who generates insights from analytics to increase revenue. Daily blog now resides at www.insightsfromanalytics.com/blog.
This entry was posted in Consumer Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

