Consumer Insights — A Well Done Customer Survey

My wife and I both went to the same physical therapy clinic. It’s not a large organization — nine locations in central North Carolina. It’s been around since 1978 and I bet they get a good number of referrals. They’ve got 18 on their website and they’re welcome to add mine.

After my wife completed her therapy, she received a customer satisfaction survey which she happily completed and returned.

I stopped therapy, since my condition can only be helped by surgery. I received a letter from the “patient representative” who is also the “recruiting manager” because it’s “important for us to know how well you are doing since your last visit.”

When I received the letter, I was impressed. It was personalized. The salutation wasn’t perfect but I have a complex name for databases.

I don’t know how large this clinic is revenue-wise but it’s a lot smaller than the hospital and the medical practice where my wife and I have been treated and we receive no form of customer satisfaction survey from them. I’m impressed the physical therapy clinic has a customer satisfaction system in place and take the time to follow-up.

I had an excellent experience with the therapist, contrary to the surgeon. After four visits to the therapist, I was not improving and the therapist suggested I see the surgeon. The surgeon’s office did an MRI and the surgeon recommended surgery. I told the surgeon I was out of work and couldn’t afford to be incapacitated for more than three weeks. He said I wouldn’t be.

My wife had similar surgery and required a three-month recovery period. The therapist told my wife that the surgery recommended for me was similar to hers and would require three months of recuperation as well. I went back to meet with the surgeon who did not admit it would take longer than three weeks to recuperate but told me to cancel the surgery if I wasn’t comfortable doing it now.

Net, net, I’m still in pain and looking for work but am pleased the therapist was more concerned about my situation and took it seriously. If I ever get the surgery, I know who I’ll use as my physical therapist and which PT clinic I’ll make referrals to in the meantime. With regards to the surgery, I’ll be getting several opinions before I decide who operates on me.

From whom have you received an effective customer survey?

About Insights From Analytics

Integrated marketing professional who generates insights from analytics to increase revenue. Daily blog now resides at www.insightsfromanalytics.com/blog.
This entry was posted in Consumer Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

