On Jumping Right In

As a 52 year-old marketing executive in search of my next great career opportunity, I’ve taken my time out of work to go through Hub Spot’s Inbound Marketing University to get up to speed on social media.

Having been inspired by Gary Vaynerchuk and Paula Berg, it’s time for me to start sharing my thoughts on what I’m passionate about.

After my wife of 30 years, what I’m most passionate about are consumer insights and the improvements that can be made to products, services and revenues when you take the time to gather them.

Over the course of my 29-year career in marketing, I’ve seen the value of consumer insights and how only discussions with real people can provide the depth and detail of information to provide context to all of the analytics being produced.

As social media provides consumers more opportunities to provide feedback, B2B and B2C companies cannot afford to just sit back and read the comments or tweet back and forth.

In some cases, it will be critical to get on the phone or meet face-to-face with a consumer, channel partner, employee to get a real understanding of their emotional link with the issue at hand. This is where the “a-ha moments” come from and the “a-ha moments” are what lead to great case studies.

I’ll share some of my “a-ha moments” in subsequent posts.

About Insights From Analytics

Integrated marketing professional who generates insights from analytics to increase revenue. Daily blog now resides at www.insightsfromanalytics.com/blog.
This entry was posted in Consumer Insights and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

